Over its more than 50-year history ORI has collaborated with numerous local, regional and international research institutes and academic institutions, as well as government departments and agencies, task groups, working groups and special committees. Below is a list of collaborators, research partners and universities:



Company Website
Council for Science and Industrial Research (CSIR)
eThekwini Municipality (Durban)
Ezemvelo KwaZulu-Natal Wildlife (EKZNW)
Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)
KZN Department of Agriculture and Environmental Affairs
KZN Department of Local Government and Housing
KZN Planning and Development Commission (TRPC)
Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Natal Sharks Board (NSB)
National Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism
National Department of Water Affairs and Forestry (DWAF)
National Ports Authority (NPA)
National Research Foundation (NRF)
The Department of Nature Conservation in the Eastern Cape The Eastern Cape Dept. of Economic affairs, environment and tourism
The Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)
The South African Network of Coastal and Oceanic Research (SANCOR)
The South-West Indian Ocean Fisheries Project - SWIOFP
The World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF SA)
Smart Fish


Company Website
Commonwealth Science Council (CSC)
Department of Coastal Zone Management, Mozambique (MICOA)  
Fisheries Department of Namibia Ministry of Fisheries - Namibia
Instituto de Ciencias del Mar, Barcelona  
Instituto de Investigacao Pesqueira, Mozambique (IIP)  
Norwegian Development Agency (NORAD)
The World Bank
The World Conservation Union (IUCN)
The World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF:Moz)
University of Tel Aviv
University of Leiden
University of McGill
University of Brussels    


Universities in South Africa


University Website
Rhodes University Department of Ichthyology & Fisheries Science
University of Cape Town Department of Zoology
University of KwaZulu-Natal School of Biological and Conservation Sciences
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Department of Zoology
University of Pretoria Department of Genetics
University of Zululand Department of Zoology