Awards and recognition

Prof Rudy van der Elst was recently awarded SAAMBR's highest honour, the Megladon Award, by the President of the Association Mr Barry Rebeck, the Chairman Mr Chris Rudham, and the CEO, Dr Mark Penning during his farewell function in the uShaka Sea World aquarium. 

Prof Rudy van der Elst receiving SAAMBR's Megladon Award for outstanding service

The Megladon Award consists of a framed cast of a fossilized tooth from a Megladon shark, possibly the largest fish ever to exist, which swam the oceans some 28 – 1.5 million years ago.

The award  has only been bestowed on three other recipients in SAAMBR’s 60 year history; Prof Desmond Clarence, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Natal and past head of SAAMBR’s Scientific Assessment Committee; Mr Roy Phillips, past President of the Association; and Prof Tony de Freitas, past CEO of SAAMBR.